get to know us

Our Story

Ao Nang Elephant Sanctuary

trust in experience

Our background

Our sanctuary has shifted our focus to a new goal, and we’re off to a great start! During the pandemic’s two years, we had the opportunity to learn more about our elephants, their history, and their behavior. Before we get started, I’d like to remind you that our new mission is to provide new opportunities for all elephants in need, and we’ll do everything we can to help. 

It’s possible that we won’t be able to purchase the elephants right away. However, we now see a new means of ensuring that they have a decent life.

A small elephant sanctuary in Krabi

Exploring an elephant sanctuary offers an exceptional and lasting encounter, fostering a profound appreciation and insight into the world of these majestic creatures.

Our sanctuary provides an informative tour, allowing guests to engage with the elephants directly while simultaneously contributing to the crucial mission of preserving elephant populations and safeguarding these gentle giants for generations to come.

Play Video
Play Video


Let's start your journey!

Mor about elephants

Our Blogs

Tourism is a great way to support elephant sanctuaries as the income generated from visitors can help cover the costs of food, veterinary care, and other expenses. Some of the activities that visitors can expect to experience during a tour of an elephant sanctuary

What are the different life stages and milestones in an elephant's age classification compared to humans?

Elephants have different life stages and milestones compared to humans, from calves to juveniles, sub-adults, adults, and elderly. Discover how these gentle giants grow and change throughout their lives, with images to enhance your understanding.

An elephant’s age is typically measured in years, similar to humans and many other animals. However, elephants have different life stages and milestones compared to humans. Here’s a general overview of an elephant’s age classification:

  1. Calf: A newborn elephant is called a calf. Calves are highly dependent on their mothers and spend most of their time nursing and learning from their family members. They stay close to their mothers for several years, typically up to the age of 5 or 6.
  2. Juvenile: After the calf stage, elephants enter the juvenile phase. This period lasts from around 5 or 6 years of age until their early teens. Juveniles continue to learn important social and survival skills from their family group, playing and interacting with other young elephants.
  3. Sub-Adult: The sub-adult stage starts around the teenage years, typically between 10 to 14 years of age. During this time, elephants continue to grow and develop physically, while also gaining more independence from their mothers. They may start to explore their surroundings and interact with other social groups.
  4. Adult: Elephants become adults around their mid-teens to early twenties. By this stage, they have reached their full physical size and strength. Adult elephants play important roles within their social groups, participating in breeding activities and contributing to the overall functioning of the herd.
  5. Elderly: As elephants reach their later years, typically in their 50s or older, they are considered elderly. Their physical abilities may start to decline, and they may become more reliant on the support and care of their social group. Elderly elephants may exhibit signs of aging, such as worn teeth or slower movements.

It’s important to note that the specific ages and milestones can vary among individual elephants and different elephant species. Factors such as genetics, nutrition, and environmental conditions can also influence an elephant’s development and lifespan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *